Poll: LaBella or Thomastik Infeld?
Poll Options
View poll results: LaBella or Thomastik Infeld?
LaBella
9 69%
Thomastik Infeld
4 31%
Voters: 13.
Page 1 of 2
I'm looking for a nice, versatile set of flats to put on my precision bass and I've narrowed it down to these two brands. I don't like Roto 77s, never been interested in D'Addarios and Pyramid Golds are the worst strings I've ever had the misfortune to play.

I've had Thomastiks before and they were the best flats I've ever had but they were very loose so I needed to set up the bass all over again; I've never tried anything by LaBella before.

Any opinions, comments or stories?
Can't comment on the flats but I use La Bella rounds on my Bongo. Really nice feeling strings and very tonally balanced.
You're going to have to set up your bass for whatever you get anyway. I remember reading that La Bella flats are really high tension.
Thomasik does well in the upright area, but for electric bass, you can't beat LaBellas.
I like both but Thomastik Infelds are my default flatwounds.

I also like DR Legends for their vintage thump on my P-bass.
Damn it! Disable can't use disable to disable Disable's disable because disable's disable has already been disabled by Disable's disable!
It wasn't dead. It merely "failed to thrive."

Maybe you got a bad set? A lot of people do seem to like those things. And they certainly ain't cheap over on this side of the pond.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
They really expensive and I'm certainly not the only person to have this problem. The manufacturers claim it to be a feature, rather than a flaw. Yet another brand to bump up their prices based on the Beetles. **** Hofner.
It's a feature that I like on the pyramids that I like.
Damn it! Disable can't use disable to disable Disable's disable because disable's disable has already been disabled by Disable's disable!