I just finished initialling actives onto my guitar which had passives in it. So I had to switch out the pots and such. It looks cool, and sounds great, but for some reason, The volume doesn't work. the guitar is "stuck" at max output, and turning the knob does nothing. Ive checked the wires and everything seems good. The tone knob does its job and so does the 3 way switch.

Im thinking i may have burned out the pot by exposing too much heat too it? I'm hoping not, because then I would have to re-solder everything...
nature always sides with the hidden flaw
I did that to a small extent on my strat, though mine still works somewhat. It could be possible I think, but I am still very new to gear modification myself.
I'm just a kickin' and a gougin' in the mud and the blood and the beer.
Quote by *unforgiven*
Still havnt solved this... (bump)

If you're volume pot is "stuck" on full output, the lead that's supposed to connect the signal to ground as you turn the pot isn't sending any of the signal to ground, i.e. it's not connected to ground. It's either that or the pot's fried. Do you have a continuity tester? I would check the connection to ground first, burning pots out takes a considerable amount of time/heat from an iron...
O yay, I had this problem actually just recently. I noticed the lug that was wired to ground looked a little, burnt, in a way. I tried moving the connection basically farther up the lug and closer to the pot itself, which actually fixed it

So you could try that, although it's tricky and risky. I ended up trying to perfect it and managed to fry it beyond working condition and had to order new pot (pain in my ass) but now that it came, the problem is resolved. So I guess that's two possible options for ya
[thread="1427660"]Clarence the Mockingbird[/thread]