I am new to the re-tubing thing, having recently converted to the more expensive, yet even more awesome world of tube amplifiers. However, It's been a little over a year of moderate use, and I know it's about time to change the power tubes. I have an Ampeg R50H, and have no idea IF or even HOW to bias the amp after I change the Tube.

I have read the owner's manual, and have found nothing about re-tubing or biasing the amp. There are no ports to connect a voltmeter to, and no pots to adjust the bias (that I can find anyway).

Also, are there any recommendations for a good matched pair of EL34's? The current ones are sovtek, and I like the tone, but I also know they are the "low end" of tubes, and if I invested so much in buying a great amp, why would I put the "low end" or "stock" tubes in it? I mean REALLY?

That aside, when I re-tube the amp, do I have to bias, and if so, how do I adjust the bias with no pot? Also, I'm told that if you only need to replace power tubes every year or two, and pre-amp tubes will go for substantially longer, is this true?

Thanks in advance for your help.
If you're really not sure what to do then take it to a shop. It's better to fork up the money than screw something up. I've never had to change tubes, but from what I've read you should rebias when you do.
If the manual doesn't say anything about biasing then there is a good chance these amps are either cathode biased or non-adjustable fixed bias. In either case, if that is true, then you don't need to bias it. Just plug n play. I recommend SED =C= or Ruby STRs
Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH at Dec 20, 2011,
Ampeg schematics are normally pretty easy to find but I can't find one for the R50H.
Bummer. Find a schematic and we can tell you all you need to know.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band