Hi,

I am thinking of buying a 2x12 or 4x12 orange cab with v30. I play metal and would like to record! However, i dont know whether buying a 2x12 or 4x12 would be better.

Its mainly for home use and i dont really want to disturb the neighbours. I heard that 2x12 are easier to work since they are easier to be pushed with high wattage amps with but i have no experience with 2x12 yet. Another thing is that low wattage amps are not supposed to be used with 4x12 amiright since they can push the speakers enough.Can someone give advice regarding this matter?
I now have a signature
If you don't want to disturb your neighbours, it could be worth using amp & cab simulators, that way you'd be able to keep the volume down as well as being able to choose which cab sounds better for each recording. It wouldn't be my choice, but then I'm not so worried about my neighbours.

What recording kit do you have? Most decent multitrackers will have a few amp & cab simulators built in, or if you're using software there are 100s of downloadable plugins which will create the sound you need.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Last edited by GaryBillington at Dec 21, 2011,
I have to agree with Gary if its for home use and you dont wanna tick off your neighbours then sims and IR loader are a great lil pets to have. What ive done in the past is i'll record with sims and IR's in the house then take an amp, cab and a laptop to our rehearsal space to reamp that way, then i can blast the thing as loud as needs be to get the guts from the tube amp.

Just a thought anyways, best of luck to you.