Ok, first off I know that I need a good set of monitors. That'll help me out a lot, so right now I'm saving up to buy some. I'm not exactly new to recording, but I'm not very proeffcient at it either. I've been doing solo recording for about a year and a half. I have been in a studio a few times, but really didn't pay as much attention as I should have back then.

So, I've got some songs I've recently recorded. I have a Line 6 UX1 and have been using Pod Farm for the most part. I haven't really messed with Revalver much and didn't care for Amplitube. I do have a friend that got a pretty good sound out of Amplitube, but I'm not sure of his setup. I record through Reaper and have been using Addictive Drums. I just started learning how to route AD and eq/comp each drum. For bass I've been recording through the UX1 and using Amplitube's Ampeg sim. I haven't really found anything I like from Pod Farm (I have the standard version). The bass has gave me the most troubles. The signal is all over the place. I try to be very aware of my dynamics when I'm recording, but I can't get it to be smooth like with the guitar. And then when I run an amp sim and eq I can't get a solid sounds through the whole thing. I'll have good low end and the mid/hi will be then or vice versa.

I feel like I'm getting better, but I'm still not happy with where I'm at. You can compare the new songs (Falling Down, Like Zion) to the ones I recorded last summer. I haven't been able to get a guitar tone that I'm real happy with. I feel like I have too much gain, but when I pull it back it sounds thin. And I'm just winging it when I mix and master. I've been using T-Racks to master everything.