I don't mean to sound like such a snob but I'm not interested in any comments saying "hurdur bass doesn't have six strings" and other toss like that. Moving on....

Schecter make these three baritone/bass guitars:

Hellcat
Ultra
Hellraiser C

As you can see, they're all in the style of a Fender-VI (which are about ten grand these days as they were discontinued nearly half a century ago). I am really interested in getting one of these for a couple of reasons:

1. It'd be good solo instrument or something to go with just drums and keyboard, no guitarists involved. Expanding my pedalboard again would make it the greatest shoegaze instrument ever.

2. The Hellcat and Ultra look like really good instruments, lots of tonal options and both look great. (The Hellraiser is only there because its in the same vein.)

3. I can't stop slapping the bass even though I never want to use it in music I make ever.

4. I'm a bass guitarist on a bass guitar course but I've played guitar in as many bands as bass.

The only real downsides I can see are tight string spacing limiting fingerstyle and the 30" scale, 32" would have been nice. I'm also not sure whether the pickups are designed to be bass pickups or guitar pickups, I could easily have them remade by Wizard (assuming he doesn't have a snob-attack again) but its a bit of a faff.

This isn't the kind of post where I just want you to agree with me; if anything, I want you to dissuade me. The thrill is in the chase, after all.
Last edited by Spaz91 at Dec 26, 2011,
Quote by bobthebum16
Out of those, I liked the Ultra

Its what I'm leaning towards but I'm a sucker for the Cure and silverburst. Remember, the Hellcat has a coil tap and the .Ultra doesnt, I think.
In the vid he says "I'm gonna split the pickups so they're all coil tapped" or something like that but idk...I like it the best because it seems/sounds the least like a metal guitar and seems much more versatile.