Hey guys,

I'm comparing some marshalls, and as the review seccion doesn't have them all I'm writing this thread.

I wanna know the main differences, tonewise, of the Marshall 1987X, JTM45 reissue, BluesBreaker, JVM 205 and Modern Vintage.

Can anyone help?

Thanks!
Quote by Lespagnol3105
Hey guys,

I'm comparing some marshalls, and as the review seccion doesn't have them all I'm writing this thread.

I wanna know the main differences, tonewise, of the Marshall 1987X, JTM45 reissue, BluesBreaker, JVM 205 and Modern Vintage.

Can anyone help?

Thanks!
JTM45 - tweed Fender with more balls
1987 - similar to the JTM45 but brighter and more aggressive
Bluesbreaker - JTM45 in a 2x12 combo
JVM205, vintage modern - completely different amps altogether, not really comparable to any of the other ones which are vintage Marshalls.
I'm not that experienced with Marshalls, but it seems near-universal from what experience with them I do have that they've always been very bright amps (I'd be tempted to say absurdly, undesirably bright). I know a guy with some vintage Marshalls and he runs them with the treble knob all the way down. It still sounds kinda bright.

I'd be curious for the input of others here who have more experience with them if there are some Marshalls that *dont* have this quality, I.E. that you don't have to go out of your way to tame the brightness of. I'd be more interested in them if this is the case.
Last edited by Brainpolice2 at Dec 26, 2011,
Quote by al112987
JTM45 - tweed Fender with more balls
1987 - similar to the JTM45 but brighter and more aggressive
Bluesbreaker - JTM45 in a 2x12 combo
JVM205, vintage modern - completely different amps altogether, not really comparable to any of the other ones which are vintage Marshalls.

I know they aren't, and they compete in their own leagues but what how are they tonewise?