How's it going guys? Think I got myself in a pickle. Easily corrected, but a pickle all the same.

Here's the question. Excuse any incorrect terms. I'm still new to this. Decided I'm not going to pay someone $70+ to set up my guitar. I've always been the do it yourself type and if I mess up, it's still going to be the same price. So I started working with guitar. Took all strings off, got it cleaned up nice and purdy. Stopbar falls out. Cool. Didn't know it did that. Cleaning it some more, whole bridge falls out. Didn't know that did that either. I'll put them back when I restring...

.. Everything is reassembled as correct as I can tell. Tune up, terrible intonation. Could it be changing gauge? Those pieces that fell out? Easily fixed either way. Few minutes later I'm ready to go. All is well until I see another Gibson and I realize, my bridge is backwards. How'd I get it in tune? Do a little more research and it seems like no matter what model it is, the intonation screws can face either way (toward bridge pickup or stopbar). What do I do? Is this normal? Does it matter? The thing is in tune and stays that way.

Guess that's my question. It's just one of those things that bothers me. Hasn't stopped me from playing, but still wonder in the back of my head. Figured I'd ask the pros.

Also, does anyone have any good online material to help me learn a little more about setting up a Les Paul?
It doesn't matter which way you put the bridge one. Some people like it with the saddles set so they only slope backwards, some people set it so half the saddles slope one way and the other half slope the other way, some people like them all sloping forwards. You can have the intonation adjustment screws either side. It's all totally your preference. The most common way to have it is with the adjustment screws on the same side as the pickups and with all the saddles sloping backwards, but it really won't sound any different regardless.
Quote by lilwill000