My question is basically in the title.

I've been playing for around 6 years.
I know a great deal about music theory, scales, chord and what have you.

Would it help me grow much as a musician to learn to proficiently play sheet music on the guitar?

Or would my time be better spent training my ear, improving chops, etc.?
Yes learning to read sheet music will help you big time. I think every one should do it. You can learn songs so much quicker and even play stuff you have never seen before.

You'll understand rhythm a bit better to I think.

If your ever short of cash and can sight read you can get some nicely paying session and theatre work, which people who cant read could do.

I think learning to read rhythm is more beneficial than the notes, but doing both are both very profitable.

The other thing is, it only takes a few weeks to learn to read the music, after that it is just a case of practising it to get it fluent. To get it fluent, just 10 minutes practice once or twice every day will do great, leaving plenty of free time to practice your chops and improvising etc.

I feel I have only touched the tip of the ice berg here to.

Work your way through the stuff in this books preview, it will help your rhythm, timing, counting and reading out a lot.

http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=Ja70qILQhoAC&printsec=frontcover&redir_esc=y#v=onepage&q&f=false

Good stuff for practice note reading and reading actual songs are every where on the net.

=)
Last edited by jkielq91 at Dec 27, 2011,
Well, guess you could learn at least something about it. It could be helpful if you play with other musicians. But I don't think you should waste all of your time in learning sheet music, just take a look at them between your practices

These are just my opinions, maybe someone more experienced can tell you more...
I think it's very much worth it.

A few of the most important things of it for me was.

1.You learn to think notes, rather than shapes or boxes.