Hi!

I'm going to build myself a 4x12 guitar cab, not because i think i can make one sound better than an orange or a marshall, but simply for a bit of fun! I think i may also be able to save a bit of money aswell.

The music i play is gritty, high gain, high OD punk rock. I'm using a Jet City JCA100H as an amp. I'm wondering what speakers i should use for my cab build. I originally picked the Celestion vintage 30s as they are the speakers used in the orange 4x12s, but they are quite pricey.

Considering i have no knowledge of what makes a speaker good, or any knowledge of any speaker makes aside from celestion and eminence, can anybody recommend any good speakers for the type of stuff I play?

I'm looking for something that will sound big and harsh, but i ain't no Joe Satriani so i'm not majorly fussy.

Also while i'm here, does anyone have any little tips or things to look out for when building your own cab?

Thanks alot in advance, and merry christmas!
My advice would be take the MDF or plywood to a cabinet maker with a cutting list and get them to cut it, that way its dead straight and square. Also, try and keep an eye out for some second hand speakers if possible. Ive found that Emminence and Celestion speakers are bloody expensive new and thats where the biggest investment is going to be.
I built my cab almost three months ago but still havent loaded it with proper speakers yet because new ones are so expensive here. (at least $170au each for some good ones and at least $300 for 4 not so good ones.)
The other thing to think about is how you are going to wire it up either in series or parallel and also will the amplifier work at the impedance that your speakers are wired to. (look up what I mean in google, it is your friend).