Hey guys, tonight I was having a small jam with some friends, and felt like a total newbie with them. Do you ever feel like a total n00b when you play with your friends? Like you've never played a day in your life? If so how do you overcome it?
You never know what temporal days may bring, laugh, love,live free and sing, when life is in discord, praise ye the Lord-Anberlin

Science is crazy!
that would explain a lot, due to school/work i dont get to jam a lot with people
You never know what temporal days may bring, laugh, love,live free and sing, when life is in discord, praise ye the Lord-Anberlin

Science is crazy!
Just keep playing with them and ask for advice on performing, etc. After about a week you should be able to jam comfortably. On a stage, for a crowd, that's a different story...
It's just a matter of comfort. Play in as many new situations as you can, and eventually you'll be able to play everywhere. Either way, playing with your friends is the best way to improve, so keep it up.
i'm better than most of my "look at me i can play 3chord punk" friends so ...and even then they're you're friends so failing in front of them isn't that much of a problem
Quote by Calymos
It's just a matter of comfort. Play in as many new situations as you can, and eventually you'll be able to play everywhere. Either way, playing with your friends is the best way to improve, so keep it up.

agreeeed play for family friends and just randomly pull it out and ask yourself what's the worse that can happen
IM GONNA ***CHANGE*** THE WORLD
I often have confidence crisis. One day i'll play guitar and sound great, another day i'll play and think i sound awful and that i should just jack the whole thing in cos i suck.