Hey bros!, i'm seeking some help on here plz , i'm having trouble with learning Guthrie Govan's Waves, by the moment i'm working on the intro, and no matter what, seems like i cant remember it fast enough to play it on time (i cant play it full speed yet, im talking at like 40 on metronome 'speed'), is there a way i could practice that will make me really 'save it on my mind' and remember it fast enough to play it correctly? I tryed with/without metronome already and just cant get it.

BTW I just strarted learning it yesterday, that's why is still so complicated? do i just need to keep practicing it? or there's something i can do to get there faster (not play it faster but take less practice time to get it right...)

your help will be Really appreciated

EDIT: forgot to mention, i've been playing for 2 1/2 years, if that's needed to be known.....
ESP LTD MH-100QM STB with Suhr SSV-N & SSH-B
Phil Pro MS-20
Vox V845 Classic Wah
Fender Mustang IV V.2
Fender Mustang I
Last edited by ADOLF1612 at Dec 28, 2011,
Practicing it slowly and correctly is the way to go, so you're doing it right, so to speak. If I remember, the intro was a bunch of sliding notes and rather long, so it could be difficult to remember. You could do something like the technique described here: https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1423285

I've used that for a couple things and after about 6 days or so the music starts to become second nature.
Quote by ADOLF1612
Hey bros!, i'm seeking some help on here plz , i'm having trouble with learning Guthrie Govan's Waves, by the moment i'm working on the intro, and no matter what, seems like i cant remember it fast enough to play it on time (i cant play it full speed yet, im talking at like 40 on metronome 'speed'), is there a way i could practice that will make me really 'save it on my mind' and remember it fast enough to play it correctly? I tryed with/without metronome already and just cant get it.