I am 33 years old. When I started playing guitar, Metallica just released and justice for all. So it's been awhile. I have a 14 year old boy who has just recently got the guitar bug ,just as I did around the age. I got him rocksmith for Christmas and I have already seen a drastic improvement in his playing and technique. Does anyone see any long term, bad habits that could come out of playing this game? I think it's great. I don't mind teaching him what I think he needs to learn but having this game has really made things even that much more fun for him. And ME for that matter. I've been playing the heck out of it lately! Just curious as to what people thought... thanks.
I can't see it being any use at all as a teaching aid due to the way it does things. For example, teaching somebody a song by first introducing them to a simplified version of a song, then gradually adding in more complicated bits is just pointless and completely counter-intuitive to how you'd normally learn things.

As long as you treat it as a game it's not going to cause any problems, but mistakenly believing that it's going to provide much benefit from a teaching point of view might. In short it's a fun way to test your skills, but it's not going to help all that much when it comes to developing them.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
I see it to benefit the playing only in a motivational way, I'd buy it just to test out my skills and have fun, I wouldn't consider it a teacher.
I got it for Christmas. The best thing about it are the training exercises really. The songs, eh, not so much but the training aids could definitely help. It is fun though and a nice break from real practice.

Ibanez SGT520VS Sage Series Acoustic
Yamaha FG720S-12 12 String Acoustic
Schecter C-1 Classic