Hi there . Ive been playing for about 4-5 years and recently decided I wanted to change this bad habit I have. I am self taught and as such I fell into the habit of only downpicking, I only realized this was bad when I was already good at it, and for some years I chose to ignore it. Problem is, Im okay with my picking, I can play with rythm and good timing and I can play some things that are considered difficult at the same speed as I should with alternate picking (ex: Dream Theater, Racer X, Govan...etc), however I feel like if I could alternate picking I would improve even more (besides that is a widely used technique). So my question is how do you recommend me to improve my alternate picking? I included a 30-45 minutes space in my daily 3.5 hours to practice this technique, am I doing right? Do you recommed specific exercises/other times /should I continue also training the downpicking/how long do you think it will take for me to develop a solid picking?.
Thanks, and sorry for the long post and the possible grammar errors.
The exercises thread is, oddly enough, full of exercises.

Beyond that: just do it dammit.

It will take you the rest of your life to get your picking up to a standard where you're happy with it so don't worry about that, There's nothing wrong with still working with/on downpicking.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Don't just set out part of your practice routine to apply alternate picking; completely switch to alternate picking altogether. If you continue to only downpick when you're not thinking about it, you'll make even more of a habit out of it.
I hate my sig
I had that same bad habit too- mostly using downpicking and never building up alternate/economy technique.