Hey so i recently started learning how to play little lead fills (like how hendrix and frusciate play(ed) ). I put my thumb over the neck which isnt hard at all for me and i learned how to play all the barre chords like that. Now ive started trying to do little fills with hammer-ons and pull offs etc. My question is does anyone else do this and how do you find the notes that sounnd good? any tips too because im not very good at it lol
I hate when people compare John Frusciante to God. He's
good and all.............but he's no Frusciante.
it helps to know hwat youe playing and what you want your fills to sound like

i dont want to be one of those that says you have to learn music theory but a rudemantay understanding of scales and chords and keys would really help
First, why are you putting your thumb over the neck? It's best to have it behind the neck for almost everything except bending, vibrato and a few chords where it's absolutely necessary.

Second, to find notes that sound good, either learn some theory, or experiment. But, really what it comes down to is what you want to hear and what sound you're looking for. Use some classic Friedman and pick a note that doesn't really fit and bend it up to a note that does fit. Do whatever you like. Nobody can tell you what to play.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Play what sounds good to you. Also, as much of an interesting skill it is to use your thumb on the low E string, I personally think it will lead to bad habits if relied on too much- especially if you're using it for barre chords.

Let your index finger barre all of the strings and use your thumb for support. Otherwise, you'll strain your hand trying to stretch and apply pressure without a good fulcrum.