Im a self taught acoustic guitar player and been playing for about 4 years. So i thought i should try and learn some theory,, but when i looked at the basics i realized that i already knew just about everything on that particular list...i just hadn't realize it was theory i somehow picked up...

I want to know you guys opinion on if its better to learn your theory from experience or to get a book and watch some videos or tutorials on it to have a clear understanding?

Thanks so much i really value ya'll opinion and advice !
IM GONNA ***CHANGE*** THE WORLD
On one hand, you can learn it all by yourself.

On the other hand, you can learn from resources compiled by millions of people over many centuries.

If you're in any way serious about learning more music theory, grab a good book or a good teacher. I thought I was competent, but then my piano teacher started me on writing cadences with traditional harmony. That alone, by learning about the harmony and interaction and leading of different voices, has had a tremendous effect on my musical knowledge.
Ibanez RG2228 w/ EMG808Xs | Line 6 POD HD500 | Mackie HD1221
Quote by millie&mavis
Im a self taught acoustic guitar player and been playing for about 4 years. So i thought i should try and learn some theory,, but when i looked at the basics i realized that i already knew just about everything on that particular list...i just hadn't realize it was theory i somehow picked up...

I want to know you guys opinion on if its better to learn your theory from experience or to get a book and watch some videos or tutorials on it to have a clear understanding?

What is the "list" you speak of.

I picked up theory from both book-learning and playing with experienced musicians who also have great knowledge on musical theory. Doing it both ways has come in handy in both the playing of my instrument and written composition (like for instrument that I can't actually play...but I can write music for them)