Hey everyone, I was told this was a pretty awesome forum so I was hoping you guys could help me out. I'm a beginner (still taking lessons) but there are two sounds I wanna try and get out of my guitar, and I seem to be having a bit of trouble getting it with the equipment I've got so far. With that said here go two videos that pretty much nail them:

#1. http://youtu.be/kcvGiM2hYLE

#2. http://youtu.be/QSU3PWnDF9k

I'm working with the following:

Guitar: Ibanez Prestige RG3770Z http://i587.photobucket.com/albums/ss319/supersonic215/Ibanez.jpg

Amp: Line 6 Spider IV 75 (don't have a picture on me at the moment)

Effects: MXR Distortion +, Boss DD-3 Digital Delay http://i587.photobucket.com/albums/ss319/supersonic215/Effects.jpg

Do I have what I need? Am I just tweaking the settings wrong? Or am I missing any particular effects (or maybe I just need better ones =D) I'm open to any and all suggestions. As I said, I'm a beginner, so the stuff being played is out of my league right now, but I'm working hard and while I know it won't be easy I hope I can get to that level someday soon =) Thanks!
yeah, a new amp will help.

however, you should be able to get close enough with what you already have. bear in mind that that guy you linked to appears to be a pretty decent player, a lot of it is in how you play, too (since you said you were a beginner).

first one sounds like neck pickup (i didn't listen to teh whole thing, just the first bit). second one (again, didn't listen to teh whole thing, just teh first bit) sounds like bridge pickup.

what all amp models do you have on your line 6 spider?
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3