Hi UG, I'm a beginner on guitar, I've played for about two months now.
A friend of mine let me borrow his Roland Micro Cube amplifier, which I found to be extremely cool to have for toying around while learning guitar.
He had to take it back now though, so I have to buy my own.
I'm looking for a amplifier around the price range of a Roland Micro Cube. The reason I'm not just buying another Micro Cube is that I would like one that perhaps is a bit better suited for playing metal, but still has enough diversity to get around all genres.
I play all kinds of metal ranging from Metallica to Dream Theater to Avenged Sevenfold to Steel Panther to Shinedown.
If anybody here can suggest a really good amplifier that'll help me create a better metal sound with some good overdrive etc., I would be very happy.
I believe what they're called is a combo amplifier?
I'm willing to spend up to about 200 US Dollars on an amp. If you know an amp reaching godlike levels for a bit higher price please don't hesitate to post it.

Hope to hear from you, UG, and happy new year!
Peavey Vypyr series amps are good
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Yea I've been looking at a Peavey Vypyr 15. That series definitely looks like a possibility.
Does anybody what the big difference between a Peavey Vypyr 30 and 75 is besides the watt difference?
Quote by Rockztar91
Does anybody what the big difference between a Peavey Vypyr 30 and 75 is besides the watt difference?
Vypyr 75 has USB support, so it would be more ideal if you wanted to do recording stuff, though it's $100 more.
Quote by Rockztar91

Other than the obvious more power? The 75 has USB out and a power sponge.
Fleet of MiJ Ibanez
Couple of Balls
Peavey & EVH Wolfgangs
Eclipse
Fender HM Strat
Kemper KPA
5150 III 50w & cabs
Quote by denied
Yeah, vypyr or cube are good.