I've been playing guitar for over five years now, and though I am by no means a master, I've reached the stage where only genuinely advanced techniques are beyond my ability (and those I can still manage upto a basic level, just dont ask me to play Animals as Leaders or something crazy like that). So I would rate myself at somewhere between intermediate and advanced, tending toward advanced. And I've been feeling the need to try something new. Make no mistake, guitar will still remain my main instrument. But I've been wanting to expand a bit into other instruments. I considered drums, but I neither have the space nor the lenient neighbours for an acoustic kit, nor do I have the money for an electric. So I decided to learn keyboards (and convinced my mom to get me one for my next birthday right now all i do is fiddle around with my bands keys guys keyboard and try to transpose a few simple guitar riffs etc).

However, I know squat about keyboards and synths. I have no idea what to look for, or what does what on a keyboard. I tried googling it, but ended up even more confused. Links or info would be very helpful.

The typical genre/location/budget deal-

Budget- 200 to 700, though since its a first keyboard I'd rather spend as little as possible without getting a piece of sh|t.

Location- Calcuta, used market doesnt exist.

Genres- Basically progressive. I'm looking for typical piano tones, sawtooth tones, spacey synth tones, and ambient tones. Jordan Rudess's synth stuff is kinda like what im after (without spending as much as he does, of course).

I already have a keyboard amp, if that helps

TLR-
Me wants synth. Me not knows what to look for. Me wants links and info on synths and keyboards. Please help. Good people get blessed with e-cookies.
Last edited by GS LEAD 5 at Jan 1, 2012,
why not just get something basic and cheap so you can figure out if you like it first before dishing out some money.