Hi guys.

I got a question.
I'm a beginner when it comes to guitars.
have been self learning acoustic guitar for a year and I just got an electric guitar.
My amp its not a guitar amp and its got no distortion effect.
So, what should I do to get a good distortion effect like those in rock and metal songs?

Would an amp like this be enough?
http://electronics.al/content.aspx?id=21&idd=72&iddd=&idjadok=331

Or should I buy one of these
http://electronics.al/content.aspx?id=21&idd=70

And if so which one?

Notes:
I can't buy online and I don't have a lot of money.
budget?
My Rig
Fender Blacktop Strat HH MN > Joyo JF-01 Vintage Overdrive > Boss ME50 > Line 6 Spider IV 30

Other Shit
Jim Deacon Acoustic
Yamaha 12 string acoustic

New Amp Fund
£300/700
even a small marshall, if put in overdrive, gives you a rather desirable, crunchy sound that you may know from the sound of ac/dc, softer metallica tunes, or, say, nickelback..
you probably won't be able to easily get more specialized sounds out of it from the start, but it's a really good starter-amp for beginners -edit: oh, it's a mg, nevermind.. check part 2 of the post

and of those 4 pedals, none would really give you the same range as the overdrive-channel from the amp, so i'd stick to the latter.
-----

if you could get your hands on other gear than just this store, however, and you have a budget somewhere between 40 and 80€, I'd recommend a small boss mine, say the DS-2, or even for a smaller budget, the behringer OD300, which gives you a great start for even less than 20€
Last edited by Mithraw at Jan 2, 2012,
i had an mg, and even with pedals i couldnt get a desirable sound. id go for a roland cube or a peavey vypyr for a starter amp.
My Rig
Fender Blacktop Strat HH MN > Joyo JF-01 Vintage Overdrive > Boss ME50 > Line 6 Spider IV 30

Other Shit
Jim Deacon Acoustic
Yamaha 12 string acoustic

New Amp Fund
£300/700