There is a story to this guitar. Once upon a time it belonged to the guitarist from my old band Violent Karma, and I used to use it every now and again most notably on the solo of this song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfLwkNNWlec) when my guitar decided it would die mid solo. It was mostly my fault. I rewire all my own guitars and I'm not very good at it =D

Recently I wanted to buy a new guitar, but didn't see the point of buying anything that would just double up on anything I already have and then it hit me. I should buy his Washburn. As it was damaged at our album launch I bought it for a mere 80GBP and started to fix it. I put a schaller bridge on it instead of the washburn original, I put a schaller R3 nut on it and then set it up. Unfortunately it turned out to hate me. I've had to take the neck off about 4 times to put shims under it and mess with the truss rod. The bridge turned out to be a tiny bit too large in just one place on the route despite looking exactly the same as the route that I took the bridge off. The nut was way too high so I sanded it down, then sanded slightly too far and ended up having to put a shim under the nut which cut me and of course any alteration to anything means loosening the strings so the floyd isn't changed under pressure which has meant fully setting up a floyd rose about 15 times. It's taken the best part of a day, but now I'm pretty sure everything is fine, she's strung up, the neck is straight, she's in tune, the electronics work, she stays in tune and she's feeling lovely.

Review: I'm going to do a proper review for the site later, but I'll give some highlights here. The neck is a c shape and thicker than a jackson, ibanez or other shredder type guitar, but the large frets lend themselves to some very tasty bends and feels very easy to play on to me. The body is slightly smaller than a normal strat or superstrat which makes it good for midgets like me.