I am interested in doing my first guitar build, but i have no experience whatsoever in guitar building, so i have a lot of questions. Since this is my first build I don't want to spend a lot of cash on it because if it doesn't work I don't want to have wasted a lot of money.

1. How much should it cost?
2. What can i do to make it easier to build?
3. What tools do I absolutely have to have?
4. Where should I buy wood and hardware from?
5. What are the chances that I mess up so badly that it isn't even playable?
1. it depends on what specs you want
2. get a cheap guitar and customise it rather than start from scratch, it'll give you experience in knowing what you'd be dealing with if you did start from scratch
3. patience, a drill, sandpaper, a jigsaw, patience, measuring tape, more patience.
4. wood if you build a new one, a reputable timberyard. hardware online.
5. if you build from scratch, i'd say about 50/50 (0-100 depending on skill level) if you customise a cheap guitar about 10-20% likely.
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
which is easier to build: neck-thru, set neck, or bolt on? I really hate bolt on necks but if that is the easiest then I will do it. And about how much would it cost to make a guitar with alder body, maple neck, rosewood fingerboard, 24 frets, tom bridge, string through body, one humbucker, one volume, and whatever neck construction is easiest? and it will probably be a V shape.
bold on is easiest IMO, and for the cost, you should really just look into some shops because the prices really differ
easiest is probably a bolt on tbh
erm i have no idea how much it'd cost tbh for the wood, hoping someone else can jump in here and fill this space in.
as for the hardware, depending on which humbucker you choose, it should be a couple of hundred dollars or about £150 in proper money.
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.