So I've been lurking here accountless for a while, but I thought my upcoming project would require an account.

Anyways, I've been playing guitar for about 3 or 4 years. I started out with a squier strat, and then moved up to a MIM Fender when my first guitar got some serious wiring issues. Now that I've been playing a while I thought it might be nice to do my first build (at least mostly from scratch.) This comes from both my love of guitar and tinkering with things. I have a few questions before I seriously get going though.

1) Where do you experts start when it comes to the build? Wood type? Pickup type? I'm fairly clueless on both of these things, although less so on the pickups after reading the official thread.
2) In general will this cost me more or less than buying a guitar new?
3) Is my first guitar build going to be a lost cause? And if so should I buy all cheap equipment so that it doesn't matter, or is there a chance that I could do well my first time?

FWIW: I'm looking to get a thick, bluesy sound a la Hendrix, Cream, but I would also like to be able to get some shimmering trebles like those used on Paul Simon's Graceland album. I know that I'll have to use different types of pickups, but which ones/how would I configure that?
1) Id go with the commonly used materials. Woods like alder, mahogany, maple, walnut... a quick google search with give you a list of good woods for guitar building.

2) If you have no tools then it will be pretty expensive. Id say you're looking at $500 and up unless you go for a completely bare bones build (this is without buying tools). In general, it will cost a lot more when you start but it will get less expensive as you get better and acquire more stuff