I will be using this thread for any questions I have about guitar gear, as I am kind of a noob and spamming the forums with threads is not the goal. I will leave my previous questions up here as is, and update this post to show my most recent questions. Thanks for taking the time to read.

Original Topic
Hey everyone, I'm still pretty new to guitars, but over the past couple years I've been teaching myself to play I did learn one thing, that I prefer to Les Paul sound to the Strat sound. I had a squire strat for a long time and it was okay. It wasn't my favorite so I eventually decided to get what I really wanted, a Les Paul, so I traded in my Squire for an Epiphone (not much of a step up but at my skill level I don't really need a great guitar).

I'm still learning a lot of things about the electric guitar but one thing I can't seem to understand is why I get a distortion sound out of my clean channel when playing my Les Paul with both pickups/humbuckers or with just the rhythm one. It sounds like when you turn any sound up too much and "clipping" occurs. The only way it goes away is if I play it at either 3 or less on the volume control. Also, it goes away if I play with just the treble pickup/humbucker for the most part Is the problem with my guitar or my amp? Is this a common problem?

Current Question:

Quote by Biblmac
Since I seem to have the answer to my question and I'd rather not clutter this forum with threads, I do have another semi-related question to ask.

It seems like with my new guitar, my Fender frontman just won't do anymore, so I need a new amp.

Budget: Less than $400

Genres: I have been playing mostly Switchfoot lately, such as this song. However I'd like to get into something more like this. Basically meaning mostly rock and punk, (I think).

New Or Used: For me, this doesn't matter. I'll take anything I can get.