Page 1 of 2
So due to my budget, I was shopping around for a Peavey 6505+ 112 combo and saw one at Guitar Center and played it a little. Wasn't bad. Overall a pretty good sounding amp. I was getting ready to buy it and then remembered that there was a Sam Ash a good friend of mine worked at down the road not more than a few minutes away. I thought, hey why not, and took a little ride down there. Then, out of the corner of my eye, I saw a 5150 212 listed for 800 used with a brand new set of tubes just put in. It was more than I wanted to spend though, so I talked to my pal there who always helps me out and I was able to talk it down to 500 plus tax and I couldn't be happier with it. Here it is!

First of all, this thing sounds like the apocalypse. It cuts like nobodies business and it's a tone monster. I'm new to tube amps so I'm not exactly sure what tubes would benefit it most when the current ones are shot, but the ones in it (they're Groove Tubes) aren't too bad. I heard JJ's sound great in the 5150/6505's though, so when these go, I'm probably going to get those. The clean channel is actually surprisingly good and a lot better than the clean channel on the 6505+ 112 I was considering before I stumbled upon this. It's not something to write home about but it isn't unusable like a lot of people seem to think. Even after just messing around for a few minutes with the EQ, I got a surprisingly warm tone out of it for what it is. But the real story here is obviously the Lead channel and my god... it's incredible. It's that classic 5150/6505 tone that I personally love. And holy crap is this thing loud... on 1 it's a really good volume for practicing in the basement and a little above that, and I can keep up with my brother on drums for jams. It's a workhouse and it packs a hell of a punch with a good palm mute. It's that crunchy, dirty, punchy, cutting attack that I always wanted tonally.