Im new to playing acoustic guitar and have little experience with guitars, picking it up quite quickly though and im loving it.

The other night after jamming with a friend who hadn't picked up a guitar in ages we spent ages just chatting playing and listening to guitar recordings, he then played me a version of Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley, and told me that if I could learn to play that then he'd buy me a new guitar... thats one major incentive lol. Now im under no illusion he actually will buy me a guitar nor that i'l be able to play the song very well (if at all) but im damn well going to try cause its an amazing version of the song and be awesome to at least be able to play something near that.

My problem? I've had a look at a tab I want to follow and it says i need to capo at 5 (or 7) i cant remember anyway. I've tried googling capos and im unsure as to which one to buy, some people have reviewed capos saying that they've snapped the neck and such. So could anyone give me some guidance as to which one to buy, im looking at the £15 - £20 mark nothing to expensive but im open to options.
If a capo snapped someones neck, the guitar was made of paper. Total BS.

As for a capo, I would get one that allows you to set the pressure. This can prevent the strings from going sharp.
That is indeed bull, just buy one that fits on your guitar (though most fit on any) and look at protective rubbers so it doesn't scratch your neck (it could do that, with a very crude capo)
yeah I guess theres a good chance that could be BS lol, but you recommend a screw based capo instead of a spring one then?

I guess i could play in a diffrent key, but always handy to have the tools of the trade right?

Im looking at one now which looks to have rubber protection on both sides of the clamp, with a screw locking mechanism to adjust tightness
Last edited by Ginners at Jan 4, 2012,
Quote by Ginners