So I am pretty new to playing guitar but I really dislike the thick, unrealistic tone that my Line 6 Spider IV 15W puts out so I want to try a different amplifier. When I get better at guitar I will mainly be playing metal (things like In Flames, Dark Tranquility, Arch Enemy, Children of Bodom, etc) but to practice I will be playing a lot of clean songs, and maybe some older genres so I need an amp that can handle everything pretty well.

I don't care too much about effects really. The only thing that it absolutely must have is a headphone in port so I can use my headphones when my parents are sleeping. Another thing that I really enjoy is preset settings. I really cannot be bothered to set up a setting and memorize the bass/mid/treble/gain settings every single time.

I want to keep it around $100, so anything under $120 should be fine. Also it must be around the same size as my Line 6 Spider IV 15W because I will be moving into a college dorm next year so I will not have a lot of space.

What would you guys recommend? A few friends that play guitar recommended the Peavey Vypyr 15W but that is the only recommendation I have gotten so far.
Last edited by ComradeNF at Jan 4, 2012,
Lots of people will tell you to say away from the Spiders and the Marshall MG line. The tone may sound fine at first but it will slowly kill your ears.
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus
Jackson King V
Jackson Kelly
Handmade Gibson Les Paul
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100/JCM900 1960 Lead cab
The Peavey is a good choice, but it honestly wouldn't be much of an improvement. Spiders get a lot of hate, but they are decent little practice amps.

You sound like you're very new to guitar, so my advice would be to save up and improve your chops. By the time you have the budget for a nicer amp, you'll be able to make a more informed decision and will have an idea of what type of tones you are going for.
Quote by zl1288