--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've been playing guitar for 3 years. Im now starting a band, we play on playing songs like van halen, ozzy, def leppard and just about any popular band from the 80's. I need a suggestion on a setlist and suggestions about learning solos from some of these bands. Were looking to have atleast 20 songs on a set list. Does anyone have any suggestions. Also we dont have a keyboard player.

Songs that I already know:

Van Halen: Aint talkin bout love, Panama
Bon Jovi: You Give Love a Badname, Wanted Dead or Alive
Nirvana: Smells Like Teen Spirit
Ozzy: Mama Im coming home. Crazy Train, Iron Man
Def Leppard: Photograph, too late for love, armageddon it, hysteria
About any of the popular AC/DC songs I can play
Were looking to have atleast 20 songs on a set list.

My first tip? Don't worry about having 20 covers on a setlist, since you'll likely only ever play places where you play three at most in the beginning. You might get lucky and get to between five and eight if you get solo gigs, but stick to making sure each song is quality and tight to start with.
Quote by squilly_willy

Also we dont have a keyboard player.

Well thats a shame.

Anyways Id say learn about 4 or 5 tops. And consult with you're other band members as well, what songs they like, what they can and can't play. Especailly for vocals, you have to consider range.

out of the songs you know so far :
Aint talkin bout love, Panama, Wanted Dead or Alive Smells Like Teen Spirit, Crazy Train, Iron Man and maybe an ACDC song would be good crowd pleasers. You want to go for songs that people can recognize that aren't too heavy (not too much thrash or death).
Play Scream Bloody Gore. It will go perfect with your setlist.

On a serious note though, play some DIO either Rainbow in the Dark or I Speed at Night.

Also some Iron Maiden songs.
20...songs? Most headlining bands that are famous barely play 20.