Hey,

I've been playing electric guitar for going on 3 years, but I've been getting into acoustic stuff recently. I managed to learn Drifting, by Andy Mckee, and am currently working on Megan's Song, by Matthew Mcghee. However, all the fingerpicking in the latter song has been killing the fingers on my right hand. I'm easily fast enough to play it and all, it's just hurting. Is this the same thing as fretting fingers pain when you first start guitar? Should I stop playing until they stop hurting? How can I power through until they won't hurt?

Thanks

tl;dr Fingerpicking is hurting my fingers, what do?
Rotten Playground
Listen to me and Jameh muck about on a podcast
as if you have anything better to do.

Quote by Reverend_Taco
Grass stains on my dicks

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Pfft. Gay? Nah, gay is the manliest sex that exists.
get your guitar set up or try lighter strings till your fingers get used to things.

and if the pain is bad, take a break - it could keep you from having problems.
Quote by Skeet UK
I just looked in my Oxford English Dictionary and under "Acoustic Guitar", there was your Avatar and an email address!
I've been using D'Addario .010-.047s. The guitar's got a relatively low action for an acoustic, compared to others I've seen (Although my electric guitar is an Ibanez, so I may be somewhat accustomed to an even lower action) and there's no buzz or anything, so what else would a set-up improve, if I may naively ask? The pain isn't that bad, I just want to avoid overdoing it, if that's a risk. Thanks for the response
Rotten Playground
Listen to me and Jameh muck about on a podcast
as if you have anything better to do.

Quote by Reverend_Taco
Grass stains on my dicks

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Pfft. Gay? Nah, gay is the manliest sex that exists.
Are your fingertips worn raw, or is it a joint pain? If it is a joint pain, maybe you should reconsider the bend in your wrist, and the angle of your fingers to the strings. And take breaks to stretch!