I should be getting a new speaker for my amp tomorrow, and after looking at the existing speaker I see that the wires are soldered rather than clipped, so I'll need to detach them and re-solder the wires to the new speaker once I get it installed.

I haven't soldered a whole lot (though I did install my D-sonic pickup myself, and it's worked really well). I'm not new to such things, however; I've been welding for close to 20 years.

But anyway, I have a soldering iron and some rosin-core solder. Do I need anything else, such as flux? Any pointers or suggestions would be really appreciated!
Atmospheric dark metal w/ black and death metal influences:
(My Soundcloud page):

Pestilential Flood
The rosin core is the flux. Depending on the soldering iron is may be difficult to get the solder to melt because of the large metal area on the tab. In addition to tinning the tip (wetting it with solder) add a little solder while holding the iron to the metal.

You don't want to just melt the added solder as that will cause a cold joint. But melting the solder in addition to heating the metal with help conduct the heat.
if you really don't want to solder, you could just buy a speaker lead with a jack on one end and spade connectors on the other.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?