Page 1 of 2
I think everyone has a few songs that they listen to that they know they could learn the parts to quite easily, but deep down you probably never would because you couldn't touch it. I've just found mine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ff_bL-2koP8

The solo kicks in at about 2.20 and then really starts to rip at about 2.44. Now I know listening to it that it'd probably take me less than half an hour to learn because it's not all that complicated, but there's something about it that I just don't think I could ever touch about it. One of those perfect takes.

What's yours?
Honestly, I've been playing the guitar for about 3 1/2 years, and I still find the very first bend in the solo for Stairway to Heaven hard to emulate. Jimmy's vibrato sounds so tender, I can't even compare.
Cliffs of dover. Been trying to play it for 4-5 years. Still mess up on 3 specific spots and its not even close to eric johnson tone wise or cleanliness.
Failed to mention intro speed too, I play it at about 70% till the intro is done. Damn thats hard.
Last edited by StonedColdCrazy at Jan 5, 2012,
You CAN NOT play Run To The Hills and sound like Iron Maiden, it's just not possible.
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster
Ibanez 1987 Roadstar II Deluxe
Yamaha THR10X
Marshall JCM900 SL-X
Ibanez WD-7 Weeping Demon Wah
TC Electronic Polytune
Seymour Duncan Tweakfuzz
Little Wing - Jimi Hendrix
I learned it by ear but I can never get the exact notes, i just play something similar to it, but it sounds alirght
Stairway's solo, I can't seem to get it right. Close, but not close enough.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
Most things Hendrix, i can get the notes down perfectly, but I can't match the personality that he creates in the piece.
Quote by JesusCrisp
You CAN NOT play Run To The Hills and sound like Iron Maiden, it's just not possible.