Well, my gear isn't exactly bad, but it could be better. I have an SX SR1 guitar, a MicroCube amp and a Metal Muff pedal. I don't mean to become the best guitarist ever, I just wanna play to chill and maybe join the band that my cousin will be forming. I've been playing for 2 years now, and I haven't been improving much. I know how to play some riffs and a couple of solos but not a complete song. I don't practice every day though. Is it just my technique or could my gear be hurting my progress? I'm leaning more towards the first option but I'm just wondering.
If your guitar is properly set up, regardless of quality, it should not be the reason you can't play. However, better quality guitars are more comfortable to play, and every time I buy a better guitar, I want to play more.

Have you considered getting lessons? Ever practised with a metronome? Ever recorded yourself and pointed out your mistakes? Do you know your theory?

Just some suggestions ^^ bottom line is, have fun with it. The more fun you have, the more you play, and the more you play, the better you get. Just get a teacher to make sure you don't form any bad habits.
Current gear:
Carvin CT6M
TC Electronics Dark Matter distortion
Harley Benton 2x12, with Celestion V30s
Laney Ironheart 60w tube amp
You should be practicing every day. Your gear won't really hurt your playing progress, but like the other guy said you should have your guitar properly setup. As far as your sound goes, yea having bad or inadequate gear will hinder you.
Well I recently upgraded from a Jackson Performer I and a Crate GT212 amp to a Squier Standard Telecaster and Vox AD50VT and I definitly enjoy playing a lot more, but you still have to practise to improve, gear wont make you beter, only more interested/ excited.