I am a beginner/intermediate. I know all my scales, minor and major pentatonic, and minor and major, and i can play them in every key, my fastest (and still clean) speed being at about 16ths at 105 bpm (or i guess at 420 bpm). What are some nice solos that i could learn to help my technique and give me some nice musical ideas to mess around with as well? I want to be pushed a little bit, but not too much.
The main three that improved/shaped my lead playing were Hallowed Be Thy Name by Iron Maiden, Trilogy Suite Op. 5 by Yngwie Malmsteen and Under a Glass Moon by Dream Theater, though that took me the best part of two years to perfect, as I only started it a year into my playing. Hallowed is definitely one to learn, as it's fast and pretty technical, it'll help your legato, bends and tapping, and the riffs make excellent technical exercise. I'd recommend doing Trilogy, that'll be incredibly difficult, I won't lie, however, it'll get you used to the Harmonic Minor scale, and show you a scale run which you may end up using many, many times, it's probably Yngwie's easiest 'shreddy' song, so it'll open the doors to Neoclassical, should that style of playing grab you like it once grabbed me. Under A Glass Moon is a bit of a grey area, it is one of the most challenging songs you'll come across, however, if you can cut it into sections and learn the easy bits, and slowing down the harder bits, it'll improve your playing a lot, and it'll get you used to solos that may have you changing positions rapidly, Dream Theater solos on the whole demand a mastery of nearly every lead technique you can imagine, so you should maybe put Glass Moon as your goal, to motivate you to improve.