I am new to guitar playing my brother used to play and he has some guitars so in the past I just picked them up and messed around but now I'm looking to get more serious with it.

Over the time that I was messing around I never developed callasuses so I am assuming that I never was fretting hard enough. So hard hard should your fretting be? I remember reading that fretting too hard makes the note go sharp, so how hard is too hard? Should your fingers lightly touch the neck when you fret a note? Etc.

Other questions: Whats the proper technique for left hand grip? How should the thumb be? Which direction should it point? Should the wrist be curled around the neck? How should your arm be? How should your right hand arm and wrist be positioned?

How hard do you play when you play electric?

I know these are alot of questions but I really would appreciate this.
search on youtube for guitar positioning, but to answer some things briefly.

Callasuses form over time, not how hard you fret, you need only fret as hard as is needed to let the note sound clearly.
The 2 main methods of holding the neck is the thumb in the middle, your knuckles curled and the tips of the fingers on the strings, the 2nd method is a more blues/rock of resting the thumb over the neck and playing at more of an angle.

Forearm should always be straight with the wrist to prevent injury.
Right hand and forearm is down to comfort, just play were if feels "right".
In terms with how hard to play, depends on the sounds your aiming for. Don't over do it, it should be smooth and the pick shouldn't snag on the strings. Id suggest its better to be too gentle than too rough.

Best advice, get your brother to show you, check out some youtube tutorials and if your serious, get a good reputable teacher.
Gear
-Shecter Omen 6 Extreme
-Yamaha JX20SC Acoustic
-Roland : Cube 80x
Wishlist
-Mbox recording hardware
-Fender Stratocaster (American Standard)
-Boss Overdrive pedal
the answer to your question is "yes"