Yes, this again.........

But its different this time. I'm not a beginner wanting to shred. Well, at least not the beginner part.

I just want to know how to get faster at playing. People say speed cones with experience but after playing for a few years I expect to get through the fast part of the sweet child solo or something similar.

It's just that lead playing never appealed to me but now I realize its something I should be able o do, play at a decent speed that is.

What/how would I need to practice to improve. I know it sounds stupid but trust me. Me only being able to do something bluesy or just palm muting over a metal backing track sounds worse.

I just don't get how people that play for a year of two can get up to a decent speed. Maybe cuz I never cared about it but now I realize it was foolish of me not to.

Help......please?
Quote by FEngHLyan

She will join the prom.

She insists to wear this lights.

I don't think so.

How can I persuade her?
http://licklibrary.ceros.com/iguitarmag/iguitarmag-issue-6/issue6/page/1

Check out the lessons with Andy James and Michael Angelo. Andy James mainly for the actually speed bit, But Michael Angelo makes some valuable points to.

My input is this list:

Build up strong muscles
Play relaxed
Technique should feel natural
tone should be even
Motion should be economical
You want to feel in control of what your doing
Last edited by jkielq91 at Jan 7, 2012,
Relax. Slow down. Practice to a metronome and make sure your hands are synchronised. Slowly increase the tempo when you can play it perfectly. Make sure you are not tense.

I'm sure you've heard this before. And no wonder... it works. So get back to basics.

But, every now and again, push yourself. Play that fast lick purely legato, see if your left hand can keep up! Then try to add your picking hand to the mix, as well. Try picking one note as fast as you possibly can.