Hi. I'm a beginner and I'm looking at random tabs for songs I like. Sometimes only the chords in the songs are tabbed, like here:

http://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/s/slowdive/alison_crd.htm

How am I supposed to use these? Ex: am I assuming that in the song, they strum the entire chord, or should I assume that they're picking notes from these chords, and that I have to figure them out on my own?
Does it sound like their playing the entire cord? if so they are probably playing the whole cord. in that song yes, each cord is strummed fully.
wut.
I recommend ditching the chord tabs until you're an advanced player. In the meantime, invest in Guitar Pro 6 software and download the Guitar Pro and Power Tab tabs. GP6 can import Power Tab files. Best $50 you'll ever spend at Amazon. Or on your guitar playing. Better than 20 years of lessons.
Quote by jetwash69
I recommend ditching the chord tabs until you're an advanced player. In the meantime, invest in Guitar Pro 6 software and download the Guitar Pro and Power Tab tabs. GP6 can import Power Tab files. Best $50 you'll ever spend at Amazon. Or on your guitar playing. Better than 20 years of lessons.

Definitely do this. It's essential I'd say.
Actually, instead of getting Guitar Pro or Power Tab, use TuxGuitar. It's free, and can open Guitar Pro and Power Tab tabs.
Quote by HenryB
Actually, instead of getting Guitar Pro or Power Tab, use TuxGuitar. It's free, and can open Guitar Pro and Power Tab tabs.

Yes, but guitar pro is a much superior product. I'd only get tuxguitar if you cant afford GP.
If youve got a decent phone too theres GuitarPro and TabToolKit apps that help alot!
TuxGuitar is really irritating because it doesn't have the RSE functionality--basically it just sounds like FM MIDI. RSE is so good I know singers who've cut audition tapes with Guitar Pro backing tracks. Couldn't even tell the difference between the wav file of that and a wav of a Roland digital piano driven by MIDI.