So quick background is I'm self-taught, been playing about 14yrs now but up until about 2 years ago I was the classic "just play tabs of my favorite songs" player. Not until the past couple years did I bother to learn things like proper fingering and scales and most other techniques that make playing a lot easier. My playing level has increased a hundred fold. I am able to create my own music and improv and jam on the fly now when previously I basically just played other peoples music.

Anyway, given that I'm so far behind in the "fundamentals", I'm having a couple roadblocks in creativity. I'm not sure if these are "music theory" questions, but here goes.

1 - I've been getting into acoustic guitar recently. Branching out I guess. But I'm having trouble writing interesting stuff for it. My main genre is punk rock. I grew up listening to EARLY green day, early Offspring, Bad Religion, NoFx, most other 90s SoCal "skate" punk. I also like classic/80s rock and bluesy/jammy rock stuff. Since I've started writing my own music and jamming with bands the past few years it's always been a punk rock band or just a fun classic/80s rock cover thing for friend's parties. My issue is when I try and come up with acoustic guitar parts they seem to lack something. It's hard to put into words, but the best way I can describe it is it just sounds like electric guitar parts played on an acoustic. I don't know if it's the strum patterns or the picking or the timing or what. What are some acoustic techniques I could practice that would help my acoustic writing have more character and variety to it?