Hey guys, I can purchase either of these amps at the minute but the AVT50 will cost me $50 / £30 more. Which is better?
well, the MG is complete crap, so I'm going to have to save avt. im not a huge fan of either (just cause it says marshall on the front doesn't mean its going to have the marshall sound. you get what you pay for), but the AVT is reasonably good sounding for the money whereas the MG series is really quite awful.
go for the avt for sure, i used to have one and its actually a decent amp. however i recoment saving up for the head version either the avt50h or 150h. because the tone improves 10X on the head and the 150h has the best. just saying but go avt for sure!
Hey thanks for the input, I know everyone on here hates on the MG. I'm only starting out so I don't have a lot of knowledge but I know they're both low end Marshalls anyway.
What kind of music do you play? Are you going to be gigging with this amp? Neither of those amps are very good, and, depending on what sound your going for, you'll probably end up wishing you bought a lower wattage tube amp.
my shitty rig:
fender mim tele -> eqd hoof fuzz -> fender blues jr.
If its one or the other, AVT
Gibson 58 RI VOS Custombuckers
Mesa Lonestar Special 2x12
I won't be gigging with it, I play everything. I suppose my favourite band would be Brand New, but I love Bon Iver, Blink 182, Neutral Milk Hotel.. if you can get any idea of a sound from that :P I was looking at a Fender Blues Junior but they are 4x the price as these

I don't need a loud amp, what low wattage tube amp would you recommend? Think similar price range...