Hey UG guys, im in a small band (no name yet) and ive written a couple songs with just lyrics, but im havin trouble gettin a basic guitar part for em, since i wanna have a defined rythm before i show my favorite one to the band guys to fully orchestrate. ive been playin guitar for round 4 years, and have some basic-moderate theory under my belt, but ill admit im not too good at improv. any tips, website suggestions or whatever will be appreciated, thanks!
Do you have a defined key?

Do you know diatonic harmony and can you analyze simple songs and say, "Ah there's a I bVII ii V I"?

Do you know cadences?

Are you familiar with Modal Interchange, voice leading and modulation?

Are you comfortable with slash chords and inversions (not always the same thing)?

Best,

Sean
jaime? dude if you just want just show us the lyrics and hum the melody and well figure out the chord

in the likely case that you arent my band member jaime if you have a melody try humming it and figuring out what key its in and what chords would fit over it
play the I IV V progression.
E.g
C, F, G.

google up some and see what you can come up with, key is just as important as progression though. The E.g i use was in the key of C major, which is pretty happy sounding.
If you want something sadder go for I iii IV, or Dm, F, Am.
Gear:
Roland Cube 15X
Epiphone Explorer Goth
Dunlop Jazz III pick (max grip)
Roland HD-1 Elec drum kit

add me on fb!
to answer everyones q's, i have the key in my head but i cant figure out for the life of my what it is, the stuff ur sayin is above my theory knowlege so far, im still takin classes since my school has a 4 year AP program for theory, and im certainly not jaime. matching pitch is the big thing im bad at, im good at most other things for guitar but finding and getting in pitch is hard for me. thanks for the comments, everything helps.
Quote by Shaggycarpet
nope, kinda an idea of what i want but nothing solid