Hello UGers!
I have just got myslef an MG250dfx ( mg 100w stereo combo 212) for next-to-nothing
to be fair, I don't get bad sounds from it at 'bedroom' levels, but when i get up to 'hearing the guitar over the drums' levels it breaks up and sounds kinda pants!

I have a healthy half stack that i am chuffed with, but don't want to drag it around everywhere, and it is not 'ideal' for smaller venues or practice's.

So, i find myself thinking whether it would be a good idea to mod the combo Mg.
I know MG amps have got a bad rep off a LOT of people, but at low volume levels they don't seem that bad, and With tweeking I can get some nice sounds.

I play what i describe as 'classic heavy rock/metal' between Sabbath and Guns n Roses kind of sounds.
Im from The Uk, I have been playing for 11 years, I play at home, in our practice garage, and at venues.

I have got some Eminence legend GB128's in my marshall M412, and I love those with my Valve heads, so maybe i could get a massively improved sound with these in the MG? maybe it would be better to go for 75w speakers, maybe preventing break up at higher levels? maybe the 1258's?
If any one has any suggestions other that 'MG's Suck' please do advise! i am aware MG's are not the best out there, Thats why i want to make it better (at higher volumes)
Thanks
T
Cort M600
Tele Classic Vibe
Les Paul Custom
SG G-400
Laney GH100TI full stack
Laney TF700 11 half stack
Throwing good money after bad...
Quote by Cathbard
Quote by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
^ that would be my concern

*if* you can get cheap enough good speakers it might be worth considering (blue aran has deals on some eminence models at the moment, you can pick up two speakers for ~£80). and you could always use those speakers later in another cab.

but yeah unless you're getting a good deal i probably wouldn't bother.