I'd like to keep my price around $800 or lower. I will just be picking up a guitar for the first time in 20 years...and even back then I didn't stick to it...so, officially I'm a beginner. I am hoping to be able to play blues music and maybe even a little bit of Johnny Cash-style country music in due time.

So, I was looking at the Epiphone Ultra 339. I am intrigued by it's ability to play with an electric AND acoustic sound. But, from what I've read...it's a new guitar and quality control seems to be hit or miss right now.

I'm a small guy...5'7 with small to average sized hands. I'm assuming a guitar with a smaller scale (if that's how you'd word it....a shorter distance between frets) might be good for me? I don't know, honestly, that's why I'm here.

I've also looked at the Gretsch models, such as the g5120. There is just SOOO much out there that I'm overwhelmed. I want a guitar that appeals to me physically...so that I want to pick it up. I really like the look of the Epi 339 (Pro and Ultra).

Thoughts? I'd greatly appreciate your input!
I'd say a to get a hollowbody.
While these are not incredibally versitile, they will work great for you styles. I'm not nearly an expert on these, but my suggestion would be the Epiphone Dot.

Hope this helped :\

EDIT: Also, further reading your post: DO NOT buy your guitar for it's looks. I know by experience, eventually you WILL get sick of how it looks, and there's $800 down the toilet. If I were you, I'd find a few I like, and go out and play them, see how they sound.
Last edited by YesterdaysToday at Jan 12, 2012,
Do you want an electric guitar or an acoustic? Because there's no electric that will do a really convincing acoustic sound in my opinion, except the Taylor T5.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
If you want a semi hollow the epiphone sheraton ii gets my vote.
Quote by FEngHLyan

She will join the prom.