I bought my first real amp a year ago, a vox vt50. For those who don't know the series it's a combo amp that simulates famous guitar sounds.

Turns out this was a good choice for a beginner for the simple reason that it gave me access to a lot of sounds without any accessories. I've recently started writing and playing originals with my bands, and we're looking to start recording some demos in the near future.

At the moment I'm having fun with my amp it's worked well. What I'm wondering is; how much can I depend on the simulation of the VT when it comes to recording? I'm completely lost when it comes to equipment in general, and I guess the VT has left me spoiled in that respect; I wouldn't really know what tools to use to achieve the same sound out of any other amp. Should I be looking to a new, better amp and accessories to go along with it, or am I fine for now?

Bonus question: For a complete beginner in the area, where can I get started learning about equipment?
most people don't think sims sound that good it seems. The only modeling processor I have heard that sounds pretty good in the axefx, but that is a pretty expensive unit.

I have heard people enjoy the line6 pod, but I haven't had any experience with it myself.

If you are going to be recording in a decent studio, they will often have a selection of gear for you to toy with to find the right sound. But thats more studio time which equals more money.

I would suggest recording with your setup and listening to it however you would normally listen to an album/song. If it sounds good, go for it. If not, explore other solutions.

There is no reason to spend money before you know you have to.
What?! There's a clean channel on my amp?!

Quote by GoodOl'trashbag
omfg i totally forgot about that, you sir are jesus christ.