Ok, I'm completely new to playing scales really fast with alternate picking, and I have begun practicing with the diminished scale. I've got a couple of questions:

1) do you think I should learn to alternate pick the pentatonic scale fast first? as it is two note per string whereas the diminished is 3 note per string

2) how long will it take do you think for me to reach the sort of speed of the guitarist (Vogg) playing the solo at 3:58 in this video?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kam8Ez-_N54

and please dont just say "just practice and it will come" I am practicing, dedicating alot of time every day to running up and down scales to increase speed, I'm just not seeing an improvement in speed so far. My friend thinks it;ll take like a year or something? thanks guys
Last edited by kerkhammet at Jan 13, 2012,
practice 2 notes per string patterns in the diminished scale up and down, and oce you feel secure and comfortable playing it you can try to do 3 notes per string (stretchy) combined with string skipping.
How long it will take before you reach your goal can vary alot, depending on how much time and effort you are willing to put into this.
There's a song where David Draiman of Disturbed rips a Dim7, which is when I started practicing it and incorperating it into my playing. It took me probably a month because of the type of picking I was using (It's an economy type of thing). I'm still not totally smooth on it

The song is Inside the Fire and the bit starts at 2:35. You can probably find a GP5 file here in the tabs, and you can just get Tuxguitar if you don't have the funds for the GP Program
╘MESHUG╦G╗AH

Ibanez ARX 350
Dunlop 535Q
Ibanez TS9
Peavey TransTube Supreme
DRIVE Elite straight 412
Quote by kerkhammet
Ok, I'm completely new to playing scales really fast with alternate picking, and I have begun practicing with the diminished scale. I've got a couple of questions: