Ok so I'm kinda new to the electric guitar but I really want to get into it. My price range is anywhere below $300. Right now, I'm trying to decide between a ESP LTD EC-100QM and a Squier Fat Stratocaster. At Guitarcenter they're both under $300. Which one of these would be a better choice? I'm leaning more towards the Fat Strat because I like the sound better.
If neither of these would be good, please list a possible choice. Also, what amp should I get?
Wrong section, im sure But still. EDIT: Ninja'd
If you like the Squier better, get that. It's completely personal taste. And if your budget of $300 is for both amp AND guitar, i'd look at the GC's used section. I saw a cute lil' amp there the other day for $30.

If not, anything under about $150 is good for beginner amps, IMO.
You dirty piece of shit, you.

Quote by FireFromTheVoid
I smoked weed with my mom once.
It was the weirdest moment of my life, and I`ve been caught with my dick in my hand, by my brother, with a giant close up of a dudes face on the tv.

Twatter
I would say the strat, IMO. I will admit, I love my Fenders, so I'm a little biassed. But I think they are a little more versatile for a new guitarist.
I see myself as an intelligent, sensitive human, with the soul of a clown which forces me to blow it at the most important moments.
-Jim Morrison
If you've played a guitar you like, go with it. It doesn't matter what people on the internet tell you is the best thing to buy; only your hands and your ears can really tell you what is best for you. You like the Squier? Buy the Squier.
Yes, I know everything. No, I can't play worth a damn.
A child is trafficked and sold for sex slavery every 30 seconds. Support Love146.
Quote by MrFlibble
If you've played a guitar you like, go with it. It doesn't matter what people on the internet tell you is the best thing to buy; only your hands and your ears can really tell you what is best for you. You like the Squier? Buy the Squier.