Hi, this is my first post here. I've been playing guitar for a few months and I'm trying to learn this song, but I'm stuck on this one riff.

I didn't really know where to ask for help since none my friends are very good at guitar so I decided to ask here.

Anyways the song is "Up all Night" by blink-182. I'm having trouble playing the main heavy riff. I have the fingering down but the strumming is strange to me.
It looks like it's all down strokes but I'm not sure.

Here is a cover of the song (not by me)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9FPvTqiOFE

Here is the studio quality of the song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkoCkva-rBc

Any help or tips on how to play it would be appreciated.
I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section, I'm still learning my way around this site.
Actually the guy in the cover video played it wrong, you can tell from the song of the original track that there are both down and upstrokes in it (the brighter sounding chords are upstrokes) as for getting the timing right just hum the riff in your head and then try to make it sound right in your playing, maybe listen to the song and play along, and just so you know playing a song in alternate picking (using both down and upstrokes for efficiency) is never wrong, playing in all down-strokes quickly reaches its limits
Whether you use alternate or down picking, or anything else, is entirely up to you. It's your own preference.
Quote by Orryn
Whether you use alternate or down picking, or anything else, is entirely up to you. It's your own preference.

horse-shit, playing in all down picking is simply screaming "I'm a beginner with lousy technique" if you ever wish to reach a solid level of guitar playing you need to be able to do both and do both as efficiency dictates
Quote by Bad Kharmel