Today I start my new job, after looking forever in this horrible job market.

I'm a dishwasher at a local restaurant. Though I have never worked in a kitchen before in my life, I usually work construction but I wanted to get out of it for a while so I pounced on this job when it came up.

My main worry is, are they going to expect me to go right in and be competent working the washing machines and the entire process? I know the basic idea, scrape plates rinse them and put them in the machine etc.

Does anyone here work as a dishwasher? and tips?
sigh...
I did for two years. Prepare for one of the worst jobs you're ever gonna have. Chefs are always absolute dicks.
They'll likely give you instructions before you start. If not it's probably not too diffiicult...
████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
They'll probably have someone train you for a bit on the first day, it's not rocket science so it won't take long to understand.
Tips depend on the restaurant. Some only give tips to servers/hosts, some give tips to everyone.
They'll give you a basic rundown of what you have to do and what's expected of you, after that you're on your own. Pretty much like every other job.
It's dishwashing. If you're not competent in something so mundane, you must be living under a rock.
I shall grant you three wishes.

None of which will work.

Does the above post enrage, offend or confuse you?

Good.

I like my women how I like my guitars. Curvy and like it when I finger them.
well if he worked in construction he should be used to the "dicks", as foremen etc can be major ass holes in the construction field...i worked as a weather proofing helper in the construction field and any one wearing a fancy hardhat with a nice shirt would treat you like shit lol. I suppose you will learn the ropes fast for how the machines are run.