Hey guys, I'm really new to the whole guitar MIDI interface thing. I found a few VST hosts and plugins that alter the sound of MIDI devices. If I can connect my guitar to my computer I could just play and change tones with that, right?. I found:

http://www.amazon.com/Alesis-AudioLink-GuitarLink-Plus-Interface/dp/B004LUH5UI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326576986&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.com/Behringer-UCG102-Guitar-to-USB-Interface/dp/B000PAPO9W

Would these work/does anyone know of any better/cheaper way to do this?
Quote by bizkitday4eva
You know suicide is just as bad as killing yourself

Taco Man of the Jhonen Vasquez/Invader Zim Club. PM HolyWars90 to join
What internal soundcard does your computer have? If your soundcard is good enough you can just plug straight in and use the ASIO4ALL driver. But I recommend getting a decent USB interface anyway. Something like the Line 6 UX2 or M-Audio Fast Track would do the job very nicely.
Quote by Cathbard
You don't need epic tone in the bedroom any more than you need mood lighting to masturbate.

Quote by Twistedrock
What internal soundcard does your computer have? If your soundcard is good enough you can just plug straight in and use the ASIO4ALL driver. But I recommend getting a decent USB interface anyway. Something like the Line 6 UX2 or M-Audio Fast Track would do the job very nicely.

I have no idea... I looked up how to find what my sound card is and all I could find was that I have an Intel high definition HMDI or CODEC installed. I looked up the toneport UX2 and people have said it can't be used as a MIDI so I can only use what it comes with or buy extra tones from their store. The sad thing is, I have found a few free plugins and they make the tones I really wanted and the UX2 does not. That, and I figured, I could find quite a few VST plugins or just buy a pack or two of VST tones.
Quote by bizkitday4eva

The products you linked are USB interfaces to record your guitar.