Hey guys, what's up? So I am self teaching to play guitar. I have an Ibanez RG321MH. Some people feel acoustic is great to move your fretting hand along to learn, but maybe it doesn't matter much.

This thread is aimed more towards people who are "Self Taught".

I am a bit lost on exactly where to start learning. I was going to practice different chords and get those down in terms of sounding clean and learning how to place my hand on the frets. Then I was going to move to scales.

I have trouble understanding how to read the chord diagrams even though I know how its read. Just when I look at them, I get confused.

Also, I have trouble sometimes sounding clean. It seems that certain fingers dim out or mute the string below no matter how much I keep my joints bent. I can manage at times, but its almost like I have to put extra attention to it. I always wonder how professionals in bands make it look so easy. It almost looks like they barley touch the frets and they play amazing. My fingers are weak, especially with certain notes. Any tips how to strengthen that so I can hold the frets down better?

I am trying to be patient as I am eager to learn how to play actual songs, but I know I can't just do that. I have no clue on what I should be practicing or where to start.

I am looking for advice and tips from personal experience. I know there are tons of articles on the site, but thats only the authors advice. I'd rather here a variety of opinions from Self Taught individuals.

Thanks guys.
If you're having trouble with muting the noise on certain notes just keep practicing. I'm also self teaching myself, and for the most part, the first couple days I had those problems too. You'll see that if you play certain chords a lot and actually play songs where you switch between that chord and other chords, you'll notice yourself start to improve. It's all just the basic idea that "practice makes perfect."