Hi there!

Today I seemed to have a problem with my Schecter Damien 6. I have been using it for like 6-7 months. Anyway, when I plugged it into my Line 6 amplifier this morning and had the METAL channel selected, instead of the distortion a softly distorted kind of clean sound came out. I switched to my Gibson and Dean but saw they worked fine with the same cable, amp and settings. Anyway, back to my Schecter, I fiddled between using the bridge and the neck pickup, between using both, or unplugging and plugging the guitar back in, but that issue continued for sometime before suddenly disappearing sometime later.

Right now all seems fine, but my question is, is this a major issue or does it often happen with electric guitars? Can pickups "cool down" or something? My Schecter has passive EMG HZs installed.

Thank you.
Last edited by zuhairreza at Jan 15, 2012,
Hey man, does your guitar have active pickups??? If it does, try changing the battery. That should fix your problem
Lol, volume knob rolled down?

Other than that,no clue unless wiring is not getting a good connection.
Quote by zkhrats
Hey man, does your guitar have active pickups??? If it does, try changing the battery. That should fix your problem

Nope, they are passive EMG HZs!

All's fine now, but I am still worried. Wouldn't want that happening again!!
It's a very common problem on cheap guitars. Basically a solder point has come loose somewhere (most likely on the output jack). You just have to go in and make a proper connection again. While you're at it, it's a very good idea to redo all of the solder points, to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Quote by Chad11491
Lol, volume knob rolled down?

Other than that,no clue unless wiring is not getting a good connection.