So i been playing for about 2 years now(self taught) and i only been learning other bands songs. So i decided i wanted to start writing my own stuff what are some tips that can help me out with this process
It's really quite simple. Listen to your heart and write what you feel. The things that move you probably move others. For the music portion of the process... I find being in a quiet place works best. The noises of the world tend to overpower my creative processes. Getting off to a quiet location helps me listen to my inner ear.
While listening to your heart, learn some chords, arpeggios included, rhythms, and theory. A good starting point for theory is musictheory.net

Also, I would avoid using tabs, not because its bad or anything, but its easier to read rhythms with sheet music.
Understand nothing, in order to learn everything.

Quote by liampje
I can write a coherent tune ... But 3/4? I play rock, not polka.
Quote by Wobbey363
So i been playing for about 2 years now(self taught) and i only been learning other bands songs. So i decided i wanted to start writing my own stuff what are some tips that can help me out with this process

Learning how music works goes a long way. Ever considered learning theory applied to the guitar?

Best,

Sean
Quote by Wobbey363

Try this out.

Use the Major Chord Formula (see below) and start experimenting with chords in certain keys. I like to do what's called "Pick 4"

Basically you determine what chords are in what keys then pick 4 of them and play 1 chord per bar. Lets use C Major for example.

All the chords are.

C Dm Em F G Am Bdim

You would label them like this.

C Dm Em F G Am Bdim
I ii iii IV V vi vii*

All the capital roman numerals are Major chords. And all the lower case roman numerals are minor chords. Except the "vii*" chord which is a diminished chord.